Steenbergen, Schouten, Kamminga Headline Dutch Roster For Fukuoka


With the conclusion of the 2023 Dutch Nationwide Championships in Amersfoort, the elite worldwide rosters for the Netherlands have been revealed.

  • You may view our 2023 World Championships Roster Index right here.

A complete of 18 swimmers comprised of 12 ladies and 6 males will symbolize the Netherlands in Fukuoka, Japan at subsequent month’s World Championships.

On-the-move Marrit Steenbergen is among the many feminine arsenal of aquatic weapons, with the 23-year-old having lately clocked lifetime bests in each the 100m and 200m freestyle occasions. Steenbergen at present ranks 4th on this planet this season within the former (52.98) and eighth within the latter (1:55.58) and can add the 50m free and 200m IM occasions to her Fukuoka lineup.

Tes Schouten may also be a formidable pressure for the Dutch subsequent month, with the 22-year-old wreaking havoc on nationwide data with nearly each swim.

Schouten at present ranks because the 2nd swiftest performer in each the 100m breast (1:05.71) and the 200m breast (2:21.71). Each occasions would have rendered Schouten the gold medalist final 12 months in Budapest.

Racing mainstays Kira Toussaint and Maaike de Waard are additionally among the many ladies’s contingent, as is open-water Olympic champion Sharon van Rouwendaal.

As for the boys, two-time Olympic silver medalist Arno Kamminga headlines the roster whereas dash specialists Nyls Korstanje, Kenzo Simons and Thom de Boer will be a part of him. Texas breaststroker Caspar Corbeau and IMer Thomas Jansen had been additionally named to the lineup.

Enough swimmers have been chosen to subject all 3 ladies’s relays, in addition to the blended medley and free relays.

On the 2022 World Championships, the Netherlands positioned 14th within the general swimming medal desk, reaping simply 2 medals in all. Medalists included Kamminga grabbing silver within the 100m breast and the blended medley relay bagging bronze.

Marrit Steenbergen (50 free, 100 free, 200 free, 200 IM)
Imani de Jong (400 free, 1500 free)
Kira Toussaint (100 again)
Maaike de Waard (100 again)
Tes Schouten (100 breast, 200 breast)
Janna van Kooten (200 free)
Valerie van Roon (50 free)
Kim Busch (relay)
Milou van Wijk (relay)
Sam van Nunen (relay)
Silke Holkenborg (relay)
Sharon van Rouwendaal (5k and 10k OW)

Nyls Korstanje (100 butterfly)
Arno Kamminga (100 breast, 200 breast)
Thomas Jansen (400 IM)
Caspar Corbeau (200 breast)
Kenzo Simons (50 free)
Thom de Boer (50 free)


Mark Faber (nationwide coach)
Patrick Pearson (coach)
Geert Janssen (coach)
Thijs Hagelstein (open water coach)
Sjors Lommerts (workforce supervisor)
Rienk Koeneman (physiotherapist)
Patrick Martens (physiotherapist)
Conny van Bentum (physician)
Myrna van Duiven (race analyst)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *