Can my taking part in associate maintain the flag, however hold the pin in whereas I putt?

[ad_1]

What do the principles say about holding the flag however not eradicating the pin?

Getty Pictures

The Guidelines of Golf are difficult! Fortunately, we’ve bought the guru. Our Guidelines Man is aware of the e-book entrance to again. Bought a query? He’s bought all of the solutions.

Downhill, downgrain, downwind putt — this factor is quick. I would like the flagstick in. However the wind is whipping the flag itself, whose shadow can be over my ball. Can I ask for the pin to be tended with the flag held in opposition to the stick, then launched after I putt whereas protecting the stick within the gap all through? —Keith Donner, Estero, Fla.

Ask, and ye shall presumably be penalized.

It’s possible you’ll not intentionally have the flagstick left within the gap after the stroke is made in the event you resolve to have it attended.

Have been you to take action after which the ball certainly hit the flagstick, you’d get the overall penalty of two strokes in stroke play or lack of gap in match play beneath Rule 13.2b for intentionally deflecting the ball, and the stroke must be replayed.

Think about working in your placing contact as a substitute.


flag on green

Guidelines Man: The wind blew the flagstick out of the opening — then my ball hit it and went in. What now?

By:


Guidelines Man



For extra flagstick steering from our guru, learn on …

I had a four-foot putt precisely on the road of the flagstick’s shadow, so I left the pin in and made the putt. My taking part in associate referred to as foul. I do know the USGA modified the rule in order that it’s the participant’s alternative whether or not to go away the stick in or out, however does that also maintain when utilizing its shadow as a beacon? —Man Sykes, through e-mail

As Guidelines Man usually reminds folks at cocktail events, cotillions and bar mitzvahs, the Guidelines are there to information us, not hinder us. They’re, certainly, a beacon themselves.

The solar is out, and a shadow leads the way in which? To combine a metaphor, the celebs have aligned! It’s completely authorized! (And fortunate for you it was a straight putt.)

Need assistance unriddling the greens at your property course? Decide up a customized Inexperienced Ebook from Golf Logix.

Bought a query in regards to the Guidelines? Ask the Guidelines Man! Ship your queries, confusions and feedback to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he received’t throw the e-book at you.

generic profile image

[ad_2]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *